A NSW Government website

Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy Board

The Board

The Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy Board advises the NSW Government on the implementation of the state’s Net Zero Plan to achieve 70% emissions reduction by 2035 and net zero by 2050. The Board provides advice on the design of Net Zero programs and policies, opportunities for low emissions research and strategies to support existing industries to decarbonise.

Energy Minister Matt Kean announced the Board’s members in December 2021 and the Board held their first meeting in February 2022.

The Board was established under the Energy and Utilities Administration Regulation 2021. The Board’s Statement of Expectations cover priorities for its first year, and the Net Zero Programs Funding Principles guide their decision making.

For further information on the Board’s formation:

If you have any questions about the Net Zero Emissions and Clean Economy Board, please contact the Board’s Secretariat here.

Board members

Ms Judy Slatyer (Chair)

Member of the Climate Leaders Coalition. Adviser to Data61 and CSIRO on artificial intelligence and PWC on ESG. Lead, Responsible AI Think Tank at the National AI Centre. Chair of Natural Carbon. Board Director of WWF-Australia, Pollination Group Foundation, Talent Beyond Boundaries, Gigacomm, Booktopia. Ms Slatyer is a former CEO of the Australian Red Cross, global COO of WWF and CEO of Lonely Planet

Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte (Deputy Chair)

NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer, and Natural Resources Commissioner. Professor Durrant-Whyte is an honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia and Fellow of IEEE, the world's largest technical professional organisation for the advancement of technology.

Ms Katerina Kimmorley

Currently Head of Commercial and Investments at Boundless, a non-executive director at Allume Energy and an Investment Committee Member of the Investible Climate tech VC Fund. Ms Kimmorley has been recognised by the Australian Financial Reviews 100 Women of Influence, the London School of Economics Entrepreneur of the Year and the Prince of Wales Young Sustainability Entrepreneur Prize.

Mr John Lydon

Co-Chair of Australian Climate Leaders’ Coalition, Economic Commissioner at the Greater Cities Commission, and Industry Professor at UTS. Mr Lydon was a former Managing Partner at McKinsey - Australia and New Zealand. 

Ms Margaret (Meg) McDonald

Environment Commissioner of the Greater Cities Commission, Member of the Foreign Investment Review Board, Chair of Australian Trailblazer for Recycling and Clean Energy (ATRaCE), Expert Panel Member NSW Government Decarbonisation Innovation Study. Ms McDonald previously served as a Board Member of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency and was the inaugural Chief Operating Officer of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation.

Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM FASSA FIPAA

Currently Chancellor of Macquarie University, non-executive director of Worley and North Queensland Airports, Chair of the Sir Roland Wilson Foundation and Deputy Chair of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation. Former Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Australian Treasury and Department of Climate Change.

Mr Peter Warne

Currently a Board Member of Allens and IPH Limited. Mr Warne was a Director of ASX Limited and the Sydney Futures Exchange (SFE) and served as Deputy Chairman of the SFE and the Independent Chair of Macquarie Group. He has previously served as Chairman of ALE Property Group and was a Director of New South Wales Treasury Corporation, where he also served as Chairman from 2019 to 2020.

Meeting minutes

Board meetings are held regularly. Minutes from each meeting will be uploaded here.